“Heaven or Whatever” by Shane Koyczan

“To this day”, no matter how many times I hear it, I continue to shed tears. I heard “Heaven or Whatever” last time and it reminded me of someone… And I cried a river. I was listening to it again today. Surprise surprise, I cried just like…a little bit. I made sure I made no noise because my roommate was right next to my room. To my advantage, I didn’t shed that much tears. I believe it was because I had pink eye and my eyes were too dry. (Couldn’t produce water, wonderful.) I don’t think I can listen to Shane Koyczan’s poems by myself without being emotionally unstable. It’s so beautiful. And especially to the ones that I can relate to.

“Heaven or Whatever” is about his grandfather who believed that heaven meant something specific to every individual. And Shane tells us about what his heaven is like and mostly talks about his grandfather in this poem.

By far though, “To this day” and “Heaven or Whatever” are probably my favorite pieces. I wonder if I’ll have a chance to see him one day. I hope so.

Leave a Reply

