I won an ipad! Whaaaaat?!

I made a video on the subject of depression for this technology scholarship. Apparently I won among the province wide applicants. This category was for grade 12s. I got it during commencement. It’s weird because I thought my video was definitely not good enough. My computer teacher told us to do this as part of our final project so I did. It’s something I definitely didn’t think I would win…

My sister was the one who texted me asking me if I won an iPad. At the time, obviously I absolutely had no idea what she was talking about. Apparently, one of the teachers at our school told her and she was confused too so she asked me about it. I’m not sure if it was supposed to be a secret but I had to go find my principle about it. Turns out I did win an iPad! My principle was very generous and she told me how her boss contacted her saying a student won an iPad for the video that I did. Wow.

Okay, I’m trying not to sound conceded but I’m actually so happy. Because I’ve been stressed and upset just thinking about how I’m not good enough and how I will probably not get any scholarships like other students who are smarter than I am. I also felt huge boulders on my shoulders because I knew that I wasn’t the richest kid in town. Getting a scholarship would’ve meant a lot to me especially with the finance and all that tuition fees that I would have to pay off for my university. Sadly, although I didn’t get a huge amount of scholarships like other students, I was in fact able to get some money and I am grateful for that. Getting an iPad may not sound like much to some people but to me it meant a lot.

First of all, I’m not being humble when I say this. Can’t stress that enough. I’m not pretty, I’m not smart, I don’t have any special talents. It’s the truth. That’s just who I am. Maybe and hopefully I’ll find a talent when as time passes… SOON… Hahaha. That’s why when I received the iPad, it helped me realize that I might be capable of something. Maybe I’m starting to see the potential within myself. And I hope I can discover this soon. Getting the iPad gave me confidence. I will be emailing the company tomorrow morning for a thank you email. Because really, this helped me boost my confidence. So dear future me, I hope I don’t forget this opportunity I had and the company who was able to give me strength. This sounds so cheesy but seriously, to that company who awarded me with an iPad, thank you so much. I really appreciate it. Once again, thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

