The Fault in Our Stars

The Fault In Our Stars

This book, I have to admit, I was NEVER GOING TO READ IT. Why? Because I hate tragic, realistic genres. 

I’m the type of person who prefers reading mysteries, futuristic-science fiction, or adventure/action books.

The reason I began reading this was because my friend was nagging me to read it. I told her straight forward

that I don’t like reading books about cancer …and have tragic ending where the protagonists die. BUT SHE TOLD

ME, WITHOUT HESITATION OR STUTTERING, THAT NO ONE WAS GOING TO DIE IN THIS BOOK. And in addition

she told me this book was so good. So I decided to give it a try. I wanted to curse my friend when I finished the book.

In all honesty, I loved the book. AND YES, PEOPLE DIE IN THIS BOOK. I was so upset. I cried until I couldn’t breathe and 

I had a headache… Critically, I thought the plot was okay… However, the reason I really liked this book was because of the 

way this author (John Green) describes everything. It sounds so realistic. This book felt like it was based on a true story. 

And the movie came out this year with like 83% rating on rotten tomatoes (which is considered pretty high with like top notch critics

commenting and saying bunch of stuff about the movie.) I didn’t watch it and I decided not to watch it because I loved the book so 

much. My friends told me to watch it and I DO ADMIT that the movie must be good (even though I didn’t watch it… haha). But maybe 

in the future. For now, I only want to keep the book in my memory. (…for now haha, I’m weird I KNOW! DONT JUDGE)

And after reading this book, it made me feel like I need to be more thankful for the life that I have. 

It’s like my father said, “The day that you are living right now may be the tomorrow (?) that a person wished s/he had when s/he passed away…”

^this quote sounds a bit weird because it’s actually supposed to be Korean. 

Anyways, dear future me, hope you get the point.

Leave a Reply

