My lazily attempted dango

Okay, it tasted good but the appearance was an epic fail because i was too lazy and hungry.

image

Ideally it should look like this (this is from internet),

image

That looks so much better.
Well, once you eat it the appearance doesn’t really matter, its the taste. LOL.

Okay so I got the instructions from “runnyrunny999” on youtube.

If you want to make it and it’s still on youtube, follow this instruction instead. Here,

runnyrunny999 dango

Otherwise, here are my pictures and steps.

Japanese dango

Ingredients:
– 200g of rice flour
– 40-50ml hot water
Sauce:
– 70g sugar
– 1 and 1/2 tbsp of soy sauce
– 1 tbsp corn starch

Okay heres the steps:

image

1. Have 200g of rice flour.

image

image

2. Pour 40-50g of water depending on how much water it takes for flour to harden like “earlobe” according to runnyrunny999.
(Yes, that’s supposed to be a smiley face. I play with food…)

image

image

3. This could be a additional step if you already have dumpling steaming basket. I don’t have it so here. I put a bowl upside down in a pot and pour water.

image

image

4. Place another flat plate on top of the bowl and place paper towel.

image

5. Make the mixture into small balls. Place the ball of rice flour mixture on top of paper towel. Ideally, they could be smaller than the photos. Smaller would mean larger surface area and less time for them to be left steaming.
But whatever. Haha.

image

image

image

image

I had more mixture left so I put another paper towl on top and placed more ball mixture.

image

image

6. Just make sure your top layer has a paper towel on top as well. And shut it down with the lid. Put this on medium heat for 25 min.

image

image

This is another additional step but I don’t like too much water evaporating and leaving waterdrops on top of the lid and that “showering” down to the top layer of paper towel. So I basically take the lid off every 10min (so twice) and rinsing off the excess water.

image

image

image

image

image

7. While that’s steaming, let’s make the sauce. 100ml of water, 1 and 1/2 tbsp kf soy sauce, 1 tbsp of corn starch and 70g of sugar. Make sure that these are mixed before placing on heat because especially the corn starch, it doesn’t mix if placed in hot mixture first… (I think…well that’s what happened last time that I made it…)

image

image

image

8. Place in low to medium heat and mix it until it becomes dense and thick. Then, let it cool.

image

image

image

image

9. Wet the chopsticks. Use the chopsticks to take the rice ball mixture out of heat. Put them in a bowl. (Optional to place them in water to cool.) Then squeeze them together. I used my hands. Then form small bite size balls.

image

image

10. I didn’t want them to stick onto the plate so I poured the sauce on top of the plate first.

So tadaaa that was my super lazily made dango. Still tasted good.

However, I HIGHLY, STRONGLY AND DEFINITELY recommend runnyrunny999 s youtube instruction that’s actually where I got it from and it’s so much better.

This food brings me nostalgia back when I was in Japan during summer… at the carnival… *sigh*

I miss Japan.

Leave a comment